Review: The Lincoln Lawyer

The Lincoln Lawyer
The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I am not sure what attracted me to purchase the copy of “The Lincoln Lawyer.” Actually, in truth, it was a number of things: one, the picture of Matthew McConaughey on the front cover; two, the fact that I had seen the movie; or three, the fact that I have a tendency to compare movies/books for the sake of how a book is transformed; or, four, it could be just because I love a good mystery story, and that is what “The Lincoln Lawyer” provided me with.

It was interesting to get inside the mind of a defense attorney (Mickey Haller) and to either like him for what he did, defending criminals whom he knew were guilty and getting them off easy, or off completely; or, hating him for those very same reasons.

When Mickey gets caught up in his own web of deciept that was thrown over him by the perpetrator, Roulet, it becomes a cat and mouse game with many twists and turns. Mickey has to devise a plan to trap Roulet for the crimes he really committed, and at the same time keep is family safe, and his integrity as a lawyer, because if a client confesses all to his defense attorney, that confession is to be kept secret. And that is exactly what Roulet did, in order to keep Mickey under control. But, things do tend to backfire … already, I think I have given away too much, so I shall end it here and let you read the story for yourself!

A fast read that will have you turning the pages till the end!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

